Internship Spotlight: Natalie Nelson

Natalie_Nelson

Major: Psychology
Year: Senior

Where did you work this summer?
Easter Seals Central Illinois & Timber Pointe Outdoor Center, Hudson, IL

What was your role?
Residential Camp Counselor

What were your duties?
Supporting groups of 1-4 campers with varying disabilities by staying with them throughout the week and providing personal care/transferring assistance.

What were your objectives/goals/desired outcomes for this internship? Did you meet them?
I hoped to learn more about how to support people with varying mental and physical disabilities. My camp experience allowed me to meet this goal and I am so happy that I had the opportunity to do so.

What part of your internship did you enjoy the most?
I enjoyed having the opportunity to meet different campers each week. I had the chance to work with campers ages 8 – 60 with autism, cerebral palsy and traumatic brain injury.

How did you learn about the position?
I used Career Wiki through the CCO website and searched under non-profit websites.

What was the application process like?
I applied in February of my Spring Semester. After completing the application, I participated in a group interview and was selected from there.

Any tips for landing an internship?
Look for positions that you are passionate about. Passion really comes across in an interview and it will make your job/internship much more enjoyable.

 

Leave a Reply

